Hypochondriac on the run

Just like with tendonitis, my hypochondria was seriously flared up again tonight.

Earlier in the week I wasn’t sure if I was going to attend tonight’s clinic talk as I wasn’t going to be running. But when I heard that the Yoshi dude (love his name!) from Innovative Fitness was coming in to talk about over training, I figured I should sit in. The guy is like a fitness genius! And the topic, over training, seemed harmless enough. But oh how wrong I was.

For someone who is the biggest Runner’s Hypochondriac there is (that would be me!) it was so not the best clinic for me to attend.

Listening to Yoshi go over all the itis’s, my eyes grew to the size of scary saucers and my jaw dropped, I kid you not, I actually had to close my mouth a few times! I was sure I had every itis out there: achilles tendonitis, hipitis, kneeitis, backitis, plantar fasciitis, bursitis, periostitis, eyeitis, buttitis, toeitis. You name it, I had it. And then when people started asking about their knees clicking, and bruise-like sensations, I was like ‘Oh crap, I think I have those too!’

My head was seriously spinning by the end of the talk. I was pretty much thinking that me and my body were doomed. It’s probably a good thing I didn’t run as I may very well have run into a tree!

Mario thought it funny one Christmas to buy me this book, little did he know the joke was on him when every two seconds I'd start freaking out about having a new disease!

My training schedule this week got a bit mucked up. Because Mario is cycling the 120 km Vancouver to Whistler Gran Fondo on Saturday, and because it’s our first wedding anniversary on Sunday (my goodness! The year has flown by), and because we’re staying in Whistler for the weekend, I’m not able to do my long run on Sunday. So instead, I’m doing the 29 km tomorrow, which meant I couldn’t run tonight because I wanted a day off before the long run.

So now I’ve got to figure out when to make up the 10 km I missed tonight. Do I run on Sunday night after we get home, or do I run on Monday, or do I break it up into two 6 km runs, one on Monday, one on Tuesday, but then I’m running four days in a row, or do I just skip it?

Is it a huge deal to make up this run? I’m not sure. But I was kind of feeling guilty watching my girls run away from me as I lazily sat in my car and longed for my sneakers 😦

Back to the Seawall I go tomorrow; wish me luck!

3 responses to “Hypochondriac on the run

  1. Katie you do not need to make up the run you missed tonight. Lori and I didn’t do the full 10k. We did a brisk 6.3 with an average pace of 6:24/km instead of the 6:45/km we were supposed to do. Good luck with your long run tomorrow and enjoy the weekend. You deserve a little time off. Wish Mario good luck for me!

  2. Skip the run, but more importantly, don’t stress out about skipping the run. The extra bit of rest will be more beneficial.

  3. Pingback: The Flaming Pins |

Leave a comment